We, French artists, denounce Eurovision 2019 in Israel

10th may 2019

From 14 to 18 May, France Télévisions intends to broadcast the 2019 Eurovision song contest to be held in  Tel Aviv, in the Ramat Aviv district on the ruins of the Sheikh Muwannis village which, as the Israeli NGO “Zochrot” (They Remember, in Hebrew) reminds us, is one of the hundreds of Palestinian villages emptied of its inhabitants and destroyed in 1948 when the State of Israel was created.

For France Télévisions, the contest is “a piece of entertainment on a unique international scale, open to a very wide artistic range”, claiming to celebrate diversity and inclusion. According to this public service, “music, which has no borders, has as its universal ambition dialogue among peoples, openness and togetherness”.

That message rings hollow in its attempt to distract us from the violations of the Palestinans’ human rights. Discrimination and exclusion are deeply entrenched in Israel, where the “Israel, Nation State of the Jewish People” law was adopted on 19 July 2018, proclaiming that only Jews have the “right to national self-determination”, thus apartheid has been officially enshrined in law.

The meaning of history, inclusivity and solidarity is instead on display in the numerous demonstrations in Palestine and all over Europe, calling upon artists and broadcasters not to go to Tel Aviv. We are hereby participating in this movement in order to show our support to Palestinian artists in the war that Israel is waging against them.

In March and April 2018, Israeli snipers targeted and killed journalists filming the peaceful demonstrations in Gaza. In August, an Israeli F-16 destroyed the Said al-Mishal Centre in Gaza, a place of music, theatre and dance. Palestinian artists, actors and musicians are regularly prevented from travelling by the Israeli occcupation authorities or, as in the case of the activist poet Dareen Tatour, imprisoned for “incitement to terrorism”.

Today, progressive Israeli organisations are also impeded by the Israeli authorities, the Ministry of Culture accusing them of subversion and reducing their grants. In 2017, for example, the Saint Jean d’Acre theatre festival had to withdraw a play about Palestinian political prisoners in order to avoid cuts in government subsidies. Art galleries and cinema festivals are today threatened in the same way.

According to the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), Eurovision is a “non-political” event. Unfortunately it is impossible to reconcile EBU’s statement with the reality. Israel is a State which officially considers culture to be a tool of political propaganda: Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu congratulated Netta Barzilai, winner of Eurovision 2018, for having “done an exceptional job in terms of foreign relations”.

We, French artists and cultural workers signing this appeal, will not go to Tel Aviv to whitewash the system of legal discrimination and exclusion ruthlessly used against the Palestinians. We call upon France Télévisions and the French delegation not to be used as cover for a regime which every Friday sends snipers to Gaza against unarmed children in the March of Return. A piece of entertainment which respects itself does not go to perform in the land of Apartheid. We would not have accepted it for South Africa, we will not accept it for Israel.

Signataires : 
Samir ABDALLAH, cinéaste ; Pierre ALFIERI, auteur ; Nadia AMMOUR, chanteuse ; Henri d’ARTOIS, musicien ; Jean ASSELMEYER, réalisateur ; Alain AUBIN, artiste lyrique ; Nicolas AUDOIN, musicien ; Allaoua BAKHA, musicien ; Mohamed BAOUZZI, conteur ; Marine BACHELOT Nguyen, autrice et metteuse en scène ; Edmond BAUDOIN, dessinateur ; Safia BENHAIM, réalisatrice ; BEN ART’CORE, photographe ; François BEAUNE, écrivain ; Michaël BIDEAULT, musicien ; Julien BLAINE, poète ; Xavier BOEDA, musicien ; Marion BORDESSOULLES, comédienne ; Bruno BOUSSAGOL, metteur en scène ; Sarah BOY,danseuse ;
Françoise CABANAC, artiste lyrique- Laurent CAUWET, auteur- Youssef CHARIFI, producteur- Jean-Christophe CHAUZY, dessinateur- Franck CHENAL, musicien- Matthieu COLLOGHAN, peintre-  Enzo CORMANN, écrivain- Jean-Luc COUDRAY, dessinateur- Philippe COUDRAY, dessinateur ; Atmane DAHMANI, chanteur- Gerty DAMBURY, metteure en scène- Bruno DARAQUY, chanteur- Yvan DAUTIN, chanteur- Fanny DEKKARI, conteuse- Gérard DELAHAYE, auteur et compositeur- Marie DEVROUX, comédienne et metteure en scène- Joss DRAY, auteure et photographe ; ELCHICOTRISTE, dessinateur- Annie ERNAUX, écrivaine ;  Abbas FAHDEL, réalisateur- Nicolas FERNANDES, musicien- Pedro FIDALGO, réalisateur- Nicolas FRIZE, compositeur ; Pierre-Louis GARCIA, musicien ; Rémo GARY, chanteur ; Marina GILABERT, danseuse ; Liliane GIRAUDON, écrivaine ; Julien GONZALES, musicien ; Dominique GRANGE, chanteuse ; Annette GUILLAUMIN, auteure ; Alain GUIRAUDIE, cinéaste ; Christian GUY, photographe ; Didier HABOYAN, musicien ; Eric HAZAN, écrivain ; Michael HOARE, réalisateur ; IMHOTEP, du groupe IAM, musiciens ; L’1NCONSOLABLE, rappeur ; Lyang KIM, cinéaste ; Nicolas KLOTZ, cinéaste ; Victoria KLOTZ, artiste plasticienne ; Armelle LABORIE, auteure ; Julio LAKS, musicien ; Anne-Marie LALLEMENT, cinéaste et écrivaine ; Iwan LAMBERT, comédien ; Léopold LAMBERT, auteur et éditeur ; Esther LAURENT-BAROUX, réalisatrice ; Sarah LECARPENTIER, comédienne et metteure en scène ; Marc LENOT, critique d’art ; Raphaël MAILLET, musicien ; Jonathan MALNOURY, musicien ; Nathanaël MALNOURY, musicien ; Sébastien MARCHAL, graphiste ; Joëlle MARELLI, auteure et traductrice ; Michel MARRE, musicien et cinéaste ; Jacqueline MARTIN, comédienne et directrice de théâtre ; Nicolas MATOS ITXASO, auteur et réalisateur ; Gérard MAYEN, auteur- Elli MEDEIROS, chanteuse ; Ismaël METIS, rappeur ; Hassane MEZINE, photographe et réalisateur ; MRIC, dessinateur ; José MUÑOZ, dessinateur ; Annie OHAYON, productrice ; Bruno PAOLI, musicien ; La PARISIENNE LIBEREE, chanteuse ; Lucile PAYSANT, comédienne ; Elisabeth PERCEVAL, actrice et cinéaste ; Léonie PERNET, musicienne ; Mireille PERRIER, comédienne, metteur en scène ; Ernest PIGNON-ERNEST, artiste plasticien ; Denys PININGRE, cinéaste documentariste ; Jean-Marc POLI, musicien ; Anastasia POLITI, comédienne et metteure en scène ; Aurélien PROST, artiste circassien ; Serge QUADRUPPANI, écrivain ; Nathalie QUINTANE, écrivaine et poète ; Luc QUINTON, plasticien ; RAPSA, rappeur ; Anna RICHE, monteuse ; RLM, rappeur ; Renata ROAGNA, chanteuse ; Abdelwaheb SEFSAF, comédien et musicien ; Jean-Michel SICARD, metteur en scène ; Eyal SIVAN, cinéaste ; Francesca SOLLEVILLE, chanteuse ; Marie SOUBESTRE, artiste lyrique ; SPOIR, rappeur ; Piotrek TAGART, musicien rock ; TARDI, dessinateur ; Jean-Pierre THORN, cinéaste ; Robert VALBON, auteur et metteur en scène ; Maril VAN DEN BROEK, comédienne ; WILLEM, dessinateur ; Djamila ZEGHBAB, comédienne.
Retour haut de page